Skip to content ↓
Sissinghurst VA Church of England Primary School

Sissinghurst VA Church of England Primary School

Enjoy, Achieve and Celebrate Together in Faith

Our School


Our Vision

Committed to doing our best to drive school improvement through outstanding governance, for the benefit of the whole community.

Our guiding values: Wisdom, Integrity, Service and Koinonia. 

Our Structure

The Governing Body at Sissinghurst School operates on the “Two teams” model. The responsbility for curriculum and pupil attainment rests with the Learning and Development team, while the Resources team oversees the financial position of the school and has responsibility for personnel, Health and Safety and compliance. In addition the chairs of both teams meet each term with the Headteacher and Chair of Governors to discuss ongoing strategic matters. Individual governors all carry responsibility for monitoring specific areas of the school and in many cases work together, for example: in 2016/2017, the impact of Pupil Premium funding will be monitored by a governor from each team.

Bonno De Haan – Chair of Governors

Andrew Chandler – Vice Chair of Governors

Foundation Governors

Penny Durie (PCC) (Learning and Development)

Reverend Fred Olney (Foundation – Ex Officio)  (Learning and Development)

Amanda Goodchild (DBEd) (All teams)

Peter Denyer (PCC/DBEd) (Resources)

Scott Martin (PCC/DBEd) (Learning and Development)

Bonno de Haan (DBEd) (Resources)

Darren Hanson (DBEd) (Learning and Development)

Non-Foundation Governors

Sharmila Desai – Staff Governor (Learning and Development)

Andrew Chandler – Parent Governor (Learning and Development)

Cathy Penfold – Headteacher Governor (Ex Officio All teams)

Lettie Neill - Parent Governor

Clerk to the Governing Body – Jane Phillips

DBEd – Diocesan Board of Education

PCC – Parochial Church Council